About First Coast Invasive Working Group

A five county task force working to prevent and control invasive species in Baker, Clay, Duval, Nassau & St. Johns counties


The First Coast Invasive Working Group’s (FCIWG) is a Cooperative Weed Management Area (CWMA) that got established in December 2006 to work across Federal, State, Local, and private lands for invasive species management.  The FCIWG is one of the many statewide regional partnerships that is helping the State of Florida prevent and control invasive species.

The FCIWG has focused its resources in the five NEFL county area of Baker, Clay, Duval, Nassau and St. Johns counties. The region includes key natural areas stretching from the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge and the St. Marys watershed to the Anastasia and Guana State Park area. The five county area allows the FCIWG to manage at a scale large enough for viable early detection and rapid response control efforts while remaining manageable.

One of the preliminary goals of the FCIWG is to have regional priorities of invasive species such as Cogon grass (Imperata cylindrica) and Japanese climbing fern (Lygodium japonicum). Interagency cooperation of the FCIWG allows the partners to:

For all of these reasons, the FCIWG is composed of Federal, State, local and private land managers with multiple conservation areas and interest that can support these goals within the five counties. Current FCIWG members consist of:

The FCIWG meets quarterly and rotate the meetings among the five counties. Public and private land managers within the five county area are welcomed and invited to attend. For more information, please contact the FCIWG at FirstCoast@floridainvasives.org.